What are the Duas at the start of Salaah?

La ilaha illa LLAAH 

There are four commonly used Dua’s

(1)It was narrated that Abu Hurairah said:

“When the Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) started Salah, he would remain silent for a short while. I said: ‘May my father and mother be ransomed for you, O Messenger of Allah! What do you say when you remain silent between the Takbir and the recitation (in the Salah)?’ He said: ‘I say: Allahumma ba’id baini was baina khatayaya kama ba’adta baina al-mashriq wal-maghrib; Allahumma naqqini min khatayaya kama yunaqqath-thawb al-abyad min ad-danas; Allahummaghsilni min khatayaya bith-thalji wal-ma’i wal-barad (O Allah, out a great distance between me and my sins, as great as the distance You have made between the East and the West; O Allah, cleanse me of of sin as a white garment is cleansed from filth; Wash away my sins with snow, water, and hail)’.”

Sahih (Darussalam)
Sunan an-Nasa’i 60

(2)Aishah narrated:

“When the Prophet opened the Salat he would say: (Subhanaka Allahumma wa bihamdika wa tabarakasmuka, wa ta’ala jadduka wa la ilaha ghairuk)” ‘Glorious You are O Allah, and with Your praise, and blessed is Your Name, and exalted is Your majesty, and none has the right to be worshipped but You.’

Hasan (Darussalam)
Jami` at-Tirmidhi 243 

(3)It was narrated from Ali, may Allah be pleased with him, that:

When the Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) started to pray, he would say Takbir, then say: “Wajahtu wajhi lilladhi fataras-samawatiwal-arda hanifan wa ma ana minal-mushrikin. Inna salati wa nusuki wa mahyaya wa mamati lillahi rabbil-alamin, la sharika lahu, wa bidhalika umirtu wa ana min al-muslimin. Allahumma! Antal-maliku la ilaha illa ant, ana abduka zalamtu nafsi wa’taraftu bidhanbi faghfirli dhunubi jami’an, la yaghfirudhunuba illa anta, wahdini lihasanil-ahklaqi, la yahdi li ahsaniha illa anta wasrif anni sayy’aha la yasrifu anni sayy’aha illa anta, labaika wa sa’daika, wal-khairu kulluhu fi yadaika wash-sharru laisa ilaika ana bika wa ilaika ana bika wa ilaika tabarkta wa ta’alaita astaghfiruka wa atubu ilaik. (Verily, I have turned my face toward Him who created the Heavens and the Earth hanifa (worhsipping none but Allah Alone), and I am not of the idolaters. Verily, my salah, my sacrifice, my living, and my dying are for Allah, the Lord of the all that exists. He has no partner. And of this I have been commanded, and I am one of the Muslims. O Allah, You are the Sovereign and there is none worthy of worship but You. I am Your slave, I have wronged myself and I acknowledge my sin. Forgive me all my sins for no one forgives sins but You. Guide me to the best of manners for none can guide to the best of them but You. Protect me from bad manners for none can protect against them but You. I am at Your service, all goodness is in Your hands, and evil is not attributed to You. I rely on You and turn to You, blessed and exalted are You, I seek Your forgiveness and repent to You.”
Sahih (Darussalam)
Sunan an-Nasa’i 898
(4)Abu Salamah bin ‘Abdur-Rahman said:

“I asked ‘Aishah: ‘With what did the Prophet (ﷺ) start his prayer?’ She said: ‘When he got up to pray at night he would start his prayer with the words: Allahumma Rabba Jibril wa Maika’il wa Israfil; Fatirus-samawati wal-ard, ‘alim al-ghaybi wash-shahadah, anta tahkumu bayna ‘ibadika fima kanu fihi yakhtalifun, Allahumma ihdini limakktulifa fihi min al-haqq innaka tahdi man tasha’ila siratin mustaqim (O Allah, Lord of Jibril, Mika’il and Israfil, Creator of the heavens and the earth, Knower of the unseen and the seen, You judge between Your slaves concerning wherein they differ. O Allah, guide me to the disputed matters of truth for You are the One Who guides to the Straight Path).”

Sahih (Darussalam)
Sunan an-Nasa’i 1626
NOTE: Even though this dual is used at night but we can also recite during day

(5)It was narrated from Ibn Jubair bin Mut’im that his father  said: “I saw the Messenger of Allah praying.” – ‘Amr (one of the narrators) said: “I do not know – -, – – – – which prayer it was” – “He said: ‘Allahu Akbaru kabiran, Allãhu Akbaru kabiran, Allãhu Akbaru kabiran wal hamdu lillahi kathiran wal-hamdu lillahi kathiran, al-hamdu  lillahi kathi ran, wa subhan Allahi bukratan wa asilan (Allah is Most Great indeed, Allah is Most Great indeed, Allah is Most Great  indeed. Much praise be to Allah,  much praise be to Allah, much  praise be to Allah. Glory be to  Allah, morning and evening)’ (and he would say that) three times; ‘A ‘ndhu billãhi min ash-Shaitãni mmn nafkhihi wa nafthihi wa hamzihi (I seek refuge in Allah from Shaitãn, from his breath, his spit, and his prodding).” – He (‘Amr, one of the narrators) said: “His spit is poetry, and his breath is arrogance, and his prodding is madness.”

 (Hasan) 

Sunan Abu Dawood 764

ALLAAH knows best

Leave a Reply

